Posts Tagged ‘Leeds’

Happy 8th Birthday Chiggs!

Sunday, December 15th, 2013

Happy Birthday Chiggs! Today is our 8th birthday – on the 15th December 2005 we took delivery of the first print run of Baby Feed Wheels, and www.chiggs.co.uk went live!

There have been changes, challenges and celebrations over the years, and I’d like to thank all the customers, retailers, friends and family who have supported us throughout our business journey- we’re looking forward the next 8 years (and more!).

Today I’m going with my co-workers (husband Andrew and daughter Holly 🙂 ) for a birthday celebration at the Christmas Market in Leeds!

Parklife! Free events and activities in Leeds Parks over the summer holidays

Saturday, August 3rd, 2013

Part two of the research I’ve been doing for some family days out for the Chiggs gang over the summer break! Here are more ideas for free family events over the school summer holidays, again focusing on West Yorkshire. The Leeds area has some fantastic parks which are great for days out, and as a bonus many have free event and activity days for children:-

Sat 3rd Aug 1-2pm a guided walk with the Head Gardener at Golden Acre park 6 miles NW of Leeds City Centre at Bramhope

Sat 3rd Aug 10-4pm mini guided family nature walks plus self-led events at Middleton Park (LS10, 3 miles South of Leeds City Centre)

Sun 4th Aug Yorkshire Imperial Urquhart Travel Band 2.30-4.30pm at Middleton Park.

Sun 4 Aug 1  -4pm Meanwood Heritage Walk II at Meanwood Park & The Hollies. The second of three walks exploring the diverse cultural and natural heritage of the Meanwood Valley. (Meet by the Oates Memorial in the car park off Green Road, Meanwood)

Wed 7 Aug 10–2.pm Bodgers Camp at Middleton Park. Learn about traditional woodland crafts with workshop sessions on how to make hurdles and besoms. (Requires booking)

Sun 11 Aug 2-4pm Birds of Prey Experience at Middleton Park.

Sun 11 Aug 2- 4pm Treasure Hunt at Hunger Hills Wood. Seek out and find clues by exploring this wooded hillside to get a chance to open the Treasure Chest and win a prize. Meet Hall Lane Horsforth opposite children’s playground in Hall Park

Sun 11 Aug West Yorkshire Brass Band at Pudsey Park 2.30-4.30

Wed 14th August 1-2pm at Pudsey Park.  Book worms story telling club (in the West Leeds Country Park visitors Centre).

Wed 14th and Thurs 15th August Spider Day at Pudsey Park! (I realise this may not appeal to everyone!) 10-4pm each day, celebrating the rare Fen Raft Spider with spider making crafts.

Sun 18 Aug 2- 4 A  Celebration of Dance at Middleton Park, with local dance groups performing on the bandstand.

Sun 18 Aug Wakefield Metropolitan Band at Pudsey Park 2.30-4.30

Tues 20 Aug 7.30 – 9.30pm at Meanwood Park. Creatures of the Night- a talk about local night time wildlife followed by a bat walk in the Park and woodlands. (All the family are welcome)

Sunday 25th August, Go Batty in Middleton Park 7-9.30pm. Learn about bats and go bat walking (take a torch!) with the Yorkshire Bat Group

Sunday 25 Aug Altofts & Normanton Brass Band in Pudsey Park 2.30-4.30

Sun 25th and Mon 26th Aug Potternewton Park the Chapeltown Carnival and Reggae Concert.

Wed 28th August 1-2pm at Pudsey Park.  Book worms story telling club (in the West Leeds Country Park visitors Centre)

Sunday 1st September 2-4 The Gig at Middleton Park Fri 9th Aug 1-3pm

There’s also the Leeds Owl Trail which can be followed at any time. There are twenty five locations across Leeds City Centre marked on the Leeds Owl Trail map- each owl tells you why it’s there and gives you a snapshot of what it’s seen in its lifetime.

Free events in Leeds to keep children happy during the kids’ summer holidays

Monday, July 22nd, 2013

As Chiggs is a family business, I’ve been doing a bit of research to find some events and activities to take our daughter to over the summer school holidays. We’re based in Harrogate, North Yorkshire, so I’ve looked to our nearest city Leeds for inspiration, and was amazed at the amount of free activities on offer! Here are a few I’ve found:-

Thursday 25, Friday 26 July,  Saturday 27 July. CBBC Live in Leeds – a free event aimed at children aged 6 to 12 years old and their families.

Stars from some of CBBC’s most popular shows will be appearing at the event, and programmes including Blue Peter, Newsround and Wild will be going live from the location over the three days. Taking place in Millennium Square in Leeds City Centre, no tickets are required for the majority of the activities and families can simply turn up on the day although there may be a queuing system in place at busy times. Under 18s must be accompanied by an adult, and over 18s must be attending with a child.

Leeds has some great museums, the ones I’ve listed here have free entry, and even better have free event days over the summer school holidays:-

Leeds Museum Discovery Centre -Behind the scenes tour every Thursday 11-12 and 2-3pm

Leeds City Museum
Millennium Square, Leeds, LS2 8BH

Fri 19 Jul 2013 – Sun 12 Jan 2014 Through the Magic Mirror  the world of Anthony Brown. An exhibition specially designed for children, taking visitors into author and illustrator Anthony Brown’s picture book world.
Thu 25 Jul 2013 Cannonballs and Dawnstones 2-4pm
Fri 26 Jul 2013 Funny Money Handling Sessions 2.30-4pm
Fri 26 Jul 2013 Funny Money Handling Sessions 2.30-4pm
Sat 27 Jul 2013 Museum’s Animals Tour and Talk 2.30-3.15pm
Sun 28 Jul 2013 Animals in the Ancient World
Tue 30 Jul 2013 Archaeology crafts  10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 31 Jul 2013 Archaeology crafts 10-21 and 2-4pm
Fri 2 Aug 2013 Tiny Tigers Toddler Group
Tue 6 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Ancient Egyptians
Wed 7 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Ancient Egyptians
Sat 10 Aug 2013 Café Scientifique  11.30-1pm
Tue 13 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Victorians 10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 14 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Victorians 10-12 and 2-4pm
Thu 15 Aug 2013 Zachariah Croakitt 5.30-6.30pm
Sat 17 Aug 2013 Bloom Festival: Carnival 11-4pm
Sat 17 Aug 2013 Museum’s Animals Tour and Talk 2.30-3.15pm
Sun 18th of August  Meet Victorian jeweller Mr Joseph  11.15-12pm
Tue 20 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Romans 10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 21 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Romans 10-12 and 2-4 pm
Tue 27 Aug 2013 Make Museum Badges and Posters 10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 28 Aug 2013 Make Museum Badges and Posters10-12 and 2-4pm
Sat 31 Aug 2013 Sporting Challenge 11-4pm

Leeds Art Gallery
The Headrow, Leeds, LS1 3AA

Fri 12 Jul 2013 – Sun 22 Sep 2013 Becky Beasley exhibition: Spring Rain
Mon 22 Jul 2013 – Sat 31 Aug 2013 ArtiEdible – Family Activites inspired by food
Sat 3 Aug 2013 SatARTday Club 11-4pm
Sat 3 Aug a family/drop-in event ‘Playground’ with multi sensory activities for under 5’s

Kirkstall Abbey
Abbey Road, Kirkstall, LS5 3EH

Tue 23 Jul 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Tue 23 Jul 2013 Muddy Monkeys Messy Play for the under 5’s
Wed 24 Jul 2013 Art in the Abbey  10-11.30am
Thu 25 Jul 2013 Picnic with a Dragon
Fri 26 Jul 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour 10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 30 Jul 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 31 Jul 2013 Art in the Abbey  10-11.30am
Wed 31 Jul 2013 Multi Monkeys stay and play
Thu 1 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 2 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 6 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 7 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey 10-11.30am
Thu 8 Aug 2013 Knights, dragons and princesses (for under 5’s)
Thu 8 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 9 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 13 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 14 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey 10-11.30am
Thu 15 Aug 2013 Fairy fun activities  10-11am (for under 5’s)
Thu 15 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 16 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 20 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 21 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey  10-11.30am
Thu 22 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 23 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Mon 26 Aug 2013 The Big Colour- colouring activities 10-3pm
Tue 27 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 28 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey 10-11.30am
Wed 28 Aug 2013 Multi Monkeys stay and play
Thu 29 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 30 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon

All the fun of the Fair

Tuesday, March 26th, 2013

Conference CentreI enjoyed a very interesting visit to the Harrogate Nursery Fair yesterday. It seems to get bigger every year with more and more exhibitors filling every single hall of the Conference Centre (which is quite the rabbit warren- good job there are lots of very helpful HIC employees to help you find your way- I needed help more than once!) I was also given a lanyard and badge with my name and company details on that is scanned on entry. This always makes me feel very important, and in keeping with the Harrogate trade conference tradition, I wore it all day, around town and everywhere 🙂

I stopped by Ruby and Ginger, a fellow Yorkshire company based in Leeds who had a really pretty stand. Although I’ve been tweeting with them for a while now, it was great to actually meet and see their lovely products ‘in the flesh’! Their cosy car seat cover for baby car seats was very popular with retail buyers, no doubt realising that babies will need some extra help to stay snuggly warm in this extended winter weather!

As usual, the trade fair was a mix of vast sprawling stands from the household names (with what must be mahoosive exhibition budgets!) and the ‘bijou’ stands of the smaller companies with smaller product ranges, and some new to the market. It’s always an interesting experience, the ‘baby’ industry is a great one to be part of- Chiggs is very lucky!

Today is the last day of the fair, with an earlier closing time of 4pm.

nursery fair