Posts Tagged ‘family friendly’

Family friendly treatments at Spruce Moose beauty salon, Harrogate

Tuesday, February 28th, 2017

Last year I was lucky enough to win an express manicure at Spruce Moose, here in Harrogate, in a competition on their Facebook page. As my nails are ridiculously short, (I don’t bite them, but they do break really easily) I treated my daughter (known here on the blog as Chiglet ūüôā ), and the lovely lady at Spruce Moose did a really terrific job.

I recently saw an update on the Spruce Moose Facebook page about ‘family friendly’ treatments, which will be offered on Mondays between 10am and 1pm. What a great idea! Any Mums and Dads looking for pampering ‘me time’ can take the children, too, as there will be a¬†safe play area with clean, well looked after toys; extra treatment time; a¬†private feeding area and plenty of wheel space for prams and push chairs.

Spruce Moose can be found at www.sprucemoose.com Unit 9, Westgate House, 5 Albert Street, Harrogate,

Free events in Leeds to keep children happy during the kids’ summer holidays

Monday, July 22nd, 2013

As Chiggs is a family business, I’ve been doing a bit of research to find some events and activities to take our daughter to over the summer school holidays. We’re based in Harrogate, North Yorkshire, so I’ve looked to our nearest city Leeds for inspiration, and was amazed at the amount of free activities on offer! Here are a few I’ve found:-

Thursday 25, Friday 26 July,  Saturday 27 July. CBBC Live in Leeds Рa free event aimed at children aged 6 to 12 years old and their families.

Stars from some of CBBC’s most popular shows will be appearing at the event, and programmes including Blue Peter, Newsround and Wild will be going live from the location over the three days. Taking place in Millennium Square in Leeds City Centre, no tickets are required for the majority of the activities and families can simply turn up on the day although there may be a queuing system in place at busy times. Under 18s must be accompanied by an adult, and over 18s must be attending with a child.

Leeds has some great museums, the ones I’ve listed here have free entry, and even better have free event days over the summer school holidays:-

Leeds Museum Discovery Centre -Behind the scenes tour every Thursday 11-12 and 2-3pm

Leeds City Museum
Millennium Square, Leeds, LS2 8BH

Fri 19 Jul 2013 – Sun 12 Jan 2014 Through the Magic Mirror¬† the world of Anthony Brown. An exhibition specially designed for children, taking visitors into author and illustrator Anthony Brown’s picture book world.
Thu 25 Jul 2013 Cannonballs and Dawnstones 2-4pm
Fri 26 Jul 2013 Funny Money Handling Sessions 2.30-4pm
Fri 26 Jul 2013 Funny Money Handling Sessions 2.30-4pm
Sat 27 Jul 2013 Museum’s Animals Tour and Talk 2.30-3.15pm
Sun 28 Jul 2013 Animals in the Ancient World
Tue 30 Jul 2013 Archaeology crafts  10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 31 Jul 2013 Archaeology crafts 10-21 and 2-4pm
Fri 2 Aug 2013 Tiny Tigers Toddler Group
Tue 6 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Ancient Egyptians
Wed 7 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Ancient Egyptians
Sat 10 Aug 2013 Café Scientifique  11.30-1pm
Tue 13 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Victorians 10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 14 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Victorians 10-12 and 2-4pm
Thu 15 Aug 2013 Zachariah Croakitt 5.30-6.30pm
Sat 17 Aug 2013 Bloom Festival: Carnival 11-4pm
Sat 17 Aug 2013 Museum’s Animals Tour and Talk 2.30-3.15pm
Sun 18th of August  Meet Victorian jeweller Mr Joseph  11.15-12pm
Tue 20 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Romans 10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 21 Aug 2013 Hideous History: The Romans 10-12 and 2-4 pm
Tue 27 Aug 2013 Make Museum Badges and Posters 10-12 and 2-4pm
Wed 28 Aug 2013 Make Museum Badges and Posters10-12 and 2-4pm
Sat 31 Aug 2013 Sporting Challenge 11-4pm

Leeds Art Gallery
The Headrow, Leeds, LS1 3AA

Fri 12 Jul 2013 – Sun 22 Sep 2013 Becky Beasley exhibition: Spring Rain
Mon 22 Jul 2013 – Sat 31 Aug 2013 ArtiEdible – Family Activites inspired by food
Sat 3 Aug 2013 SatARTday Club 11-4pm
Sat 3 Aug a family/drop-in event ‘Playground’ with multi sensory activities for under 5’s

Kirkstall Abbey
Abbey Road, Kirkstall, LS5 3EH

Tue 23 Jul 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Tue 23 Jul 2013 Muddy Monkeys Messy Play for the under 5’s
Wed 24 Jul 2013 Art in the Abbey  10-11.30am
Thu 25 Jul 2013 Picnic with a Dragon
Fri 26 Jul 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour 10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 30 Jul 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 31 Jul 2013 Art in the Abbey  10-11.30am
Wed 31 Jul 2013 Multi Monkeys stay and play
Thu 1 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 2 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 6 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 7 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey 10-11.30am
Thu 8 Aug 2013 Knights, dragons and princesses (for under 5’s)
Thu 8 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 9 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 13 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 14 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey 10-11.30am
Thu 15 Aug 2013 Fairy fun activities ¬†10-11am (for under 5’s)
Thu 15 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 16 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Tue 20 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 21 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey  10-11.30am
Thu 22 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 23 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon
Mon 26 Aug 2013 The Big Colour- colouring activities 10-3pm
Tue 27 Aug 2013 Mini Dragons 10-11am
Wed 28 Aug 2013 Art in the Abbey 10-11.30am
Wed 28 Aug 2013 Multi Monkeys stay and play
Thu 29 Aug 2013 Picnic with a Dragon 12-1pm
Fri 30 Aug 2013 Family Friendly Guided Tour  10.15-11 and 11.15-12 noon